Research fields

Audition, hearing pathologies, listening, otherness, subjectivity, deafness, silence, noise, sound installations and site-specific approaches, experimental practices, sound, sound art, radio, voice, audio recordings, hauntology, ephemeral bodies, non-presence, radical phonography, field recordings, raw materials, stasis cinema and dance situations.

Research Projects

About listening (2009 – 2019)
Interstitial Space (2012 – 2017)
Dark Sound (2014 – 2016)
A soft hiss of this world (2016 – 2019)


Blog (2009 – 2018)
News (since 2018)

Soinumapa (2012 – 2016)
Hots! Radio (2013 – 2014)
The Listening Observatory (2016)
Mediateletipos (since 2013)
welthassle (since 2015)


Mikel R. Nieto studied art in San Sebastián, Madrid and Barcelona. He is part of the sound map of the Basque Country and Mediateletipos plattform. He coordinated The Listening Observatory in collaboration with José Luis Espejo and Xabier Erkizia during 2016.

He has being working in collaboration with dancers and choreographers like Jone San Martin and Pascal Merighi in many contemporary dance projects creating sound designs for dance pieces.

His first book, black on black, called “Dark Sound” was published by Gruenrekorder and it was described as the dark book of the soundscape. His second book in collaboration with Tim Ingold and Carmen Pardo, called “A soft hiss of this world” was printed white on white and is focused in the loss of snow in the landscape because of the Antrophocene and how it affects to language and to the soundscape through the sound of snowflakes.